Movie of the Day – Desperado

Alright, there are three things that I love to see in movies.  If at least 2 of these elements are present is said movie, we are looking at an instant classic.  The three things are guns, hot latin women and Mariachi music.  So I can understand why Desperado is right up in the pantheon of movie watching.

Guns:

not only a functional gun, but an obvious metaphor

Yes, yes, yes!  Desperado has soo many fucking guns that they have to use guitar cases to house the guns and even modify them to be guns.  A guitar case full of guns, a guitar case that is a machine gun, and one that is rocket launcher.  Holy Shit!  I half expected the knives in the movie to be a functional gun as well.  The gun play in this movie is stellar.  A larger budget, a rebel film making attitude and needing to top the first movie, Desperado does that in spades.

Hot Latin Women:

Yep…done.

Mariachi Music:

As a Hispanic American, there was no way in hell that I could escape the sound of guitars, accordions, trumpets, and sombreros.  Mariachi music is as much apart of my life as white people enjoy Nickleback.   But growing up with this music, I never looked at these musicians with much envy or mystery.  But goddamn did this movie make them out to bad asses.  I would never cross a Mariachi ever in fear that he will whip out the guitar case and just start laying waste to everyone. Also the soundtrack to the movie is awesome with its mix of western and tejano influence, along with a nice opening Mariachi number.

Desperado has everything I want in a movie.  Top notch shoot outs, especially when the band gets back together for one last stand.  Salma Hayek filling in the hot latin woman quotient.  Also this was her big American movie debut.  So America…you are welcome for this.  Last is Mariachi music as the hero is a mariachi guitarist.

About Nick
I am just another blogger putting his thoughts into a website. My love is movies so most of my musings will be movie related. I work as an online marketer for an advertising company and when I am not earning a paycheck, I moonlight as a vigilante film blogger.

Leave a comment